More than Bread… Living on nourishment from Jesus.

Then was Jesus led up of the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted of the devil. And when he had fasted forty days and forty nights, he was afterward an hungred. And when the tempter came to him, he said, If thou be the Son of God, command that these stones be made command that these stones be made bread. But he answered and said, It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.
Matthew 4:1-4

I have been on this healthy journey now for a few months and I’ve been doing great. I’ve stuck to my diet, lost weight, and have seen my health improve. But during this process of improving my physical health the Lord has convicted me of one thing. I have been so careful about what I consume into my body. Only eating what is good for my body and leaving out the junk that can be harmful.

And though I know the Lord is pleased with my endeavor to improve this temple He has given me, I knew He longed for me to fed myself spiritual. I had been so careful about only giving my body the very best nourishment, but had lacked in given my soul the nourishment it longed for. Yes, the Lord does want me to take care of my body but He wants an intimate relationship with so much more. I can not do this journey on my own. I need the Lord’s strength on the days I’m weak or prone to given to fleshly desires. I need the wisdom from His word to make the right choices for mine and my families health.

Like I said I have been so careful to only consume wholesome foods, leaving out the things that are “junk.” And yep you guessed it. It was as if the Lord had said to me “you are so careful about what does into your stomach, what about what goes into your heart?” What kind of “junk” had I been consuming through TV, listening to gossip, or even Satan’s lies? I had been so careful to guard my health but had neglected my heart.

I feel my relationship with the Lord has improve tremendously and I am grateful for the Holy Spirits conviction. I ask for prayer from you that I do not get sidetracked again and preoccupied with things that are temporary.

Lord thank you for your Spirit that dwells in this temple even when I fail to give it the spiritual sustenance it needs.

Leave a Reply

