Essential Oils 201 

  Well, first let me apologize for the lack of blog post in the recent months. Yesterday was my last day to work (bitter sweet) so I’m hoping to get more blogging done. I have several post I’m wanting to sit down and write and some updates to past posts. But I couldn’t not write this post on essential oils. As you probably noticed that the name of this post is essential oils 201. No, I have not posted essential oils 101 yet, and I do know how college classes work. But I have come to the conclusion that most people I know who would be reading this is already using essential oils. So hopefully you already received an intro to oils class. If not I will be posting that soon. So here are a few of my tips on essential oil usage. 
Essential Oil Safety 

First let me start with the most important part and that is using the oils safely. So this will take some reaserch on your part. Never take someone’s word for it that something is safe. I choose to use and sell doTERRA essential oils. Why? Several reasons, but mainly because I know they are safe. DoTERRA’s oils are “Certfied Pure Theraputic Grade” oils. What does that mean exactly? A whole lot and yet nothing really at all. DoTERRA promises that all of their oils are 100% pure, safe, organic, etc. But do I take their word for it, NO! And you shouldn’t either. There is no FDA regulations on essential oils, so that means no one is coming behind these oil companies and checking that what they are claiming is actually true. BUT doTERRA uses 3rd party testing on all of there oils. So someone who isn’t employed by doTERRA or benefitted by them in anyway is testing these oils to make sure doTERRA’s claims are true. And the result of these testing are public knowledge. So no matter what oil company you choose to go with make sure their claims are true. If no one outside of the company can back up there claims of purity how can you know it’s true. I am using these oils on myself and my children topically and orally, and I want to know what I am putting in or on my kids. Remember there is no regulations on essential oils, so just because you bought an oil that said it is 100% pure doesn’t mean it’s not filled with chemicals, synthetics, or fillers. It happens more than you think. Make sure you are using an oil company you trust with your children’s health. 
Knowledge

Another issue that just burns me up is the lack of knowledge people have of the oils they are using. A lot of the blame is on the people who are using them blindly. You need to take your healthy care into your own hands, and that means educating yourself on whatever you are using to improve your health. If your taking prescription medication research what is in it and what it does.  Same for the essential oils. Research the oils you are using, what else does that oil help with, can it be taken internally to not.  Let me just say there is A LOT of false information on the oils on the Internet so make your information comes from a reliable source. There is plenty of scientific studies that have been done by qualified people. Anyone can write a blog post on how the oils are unsafe, just as someone can write one claiming they cured them of every ailment. Just make sure your info is coming from someone who has the authority to give the info. 

I also think a lot of the blame can be placed upon the people who are selling the oils. It seems so many are running around trying to get as many people signed up under them as possible and not making sure those they have sold the oils to actually understand how to use them. And then they have so many people signed up under them they don’t have time to help all of the people they have signed up. I am dedicated to not only getting people to use the oils but to also educate them on how to use them. I get lots of questions about the oils from people who are signed up under other people or even other companies. I am constantly trying to educate myself about essential oils so I try to help whoever I can but my responsibility and priority is to those who I have signed up. I chose to go with doTERRA essential oils, I know doTERRA essential oils. Each company has different products and blends of oils. I can not answer questions about products from other companies because I do not know anything about those products. 
Chemistry 

 One complaint I hear about the oils is “oh, I tried them, but the just don’t work for me”. When I go to the dr and he is trying to get me on any type of prescription medication they almost always say “if this medication doesn’t work then come back and we will try something else”. They say this because they know everyone’s chemistry is different and what works for one person may not work for another. The same goes for the oils. When someone asks me what oils help with sleep I usually tell them the blend that I use and also recommend a few others. I tell them to try one first and see if it helps, if not we can try something else. This is a good rule of thumb for all the oils. Just because one didn’t work for you doesn’t mean you should throw the baby out with the bath water. I know the oils work because I use them, it just may take little experimenting to figure out exactly what’s going to work for you. 
 I believe in the oils so much and am frustrated when I see people misuse them or use them without thought. Please educate yourself and take your health and your family’s health into your own hands. No one is going to be a bigger advocate for your family than you. 
Happy Oiling! 

  

Leave a Reply

