School’s Out For Summer…

11230846_10204444219570466_1164673301805795359_n

School’s out for my family and summer vacation has started. This will be the first summer in 2 years that I will not be working, therefore we have a little more freedom to take advantage of the time off. My husband’s parents own a Organic Dairy farm in Iowa. We really don’t get to see each other much because it is hard for them to leave the farm and we are busy with life here in Texas. Well, this summer is going to be different.

 

We are going to spend SEVEN weeks with my in-laws in Iowa. Yep, you heard me right. Am I crazy? I dont think so. Not sure if my in-laws agree, but I think it’s going to be great. And my kids are super excited. They love spending time on the farm. My Husband has younger siblings so there are plenty of aunts and uncles for my kids to look up to. They will be busy “picking eggs,”  (My father-in-law owns 10,000 laying hens so there are plenty of eggs to keep them busy) feeding calves, and milking cows. My husband is going to be there to help my father-in-law with all the farming duties for the summer, which is a lot.1238164_10151871274154557_795530935_n

 

What am I going to do you may ask? Stay out of the way. I am going to try and help out wherever I can, but also try not to be a nuisance. I hope to learn some gardening tips from my awesome mother-in-law. I plan to get a ton of blog writing done, do some Bible studying, and even more health and wellness studying. But most of all I intend to rest and take care of my body. I am afraid I over did it this past school year. My health issues seem to be increasing. Nothing serious, more irritating. Like Benign Fasciculation Syndrome, sounds big and scary but it’s not. It’s just twitching all over my body. Have you ever been really tired or stressed out and your eyelid starts to twitch? Well thats exactly what this is except all over my body. It did really drive me crazy, but now I’m pretty much use to it. What causes this all over twitching? You guessed it, stress is a leading factor. From what I’ve been told it’s something I will always have to deal with, but remove the causing factors (like stress) and it will get better. Also my hair has been falling out. Now I have a ton of hair so I’m not worried about going bald anytime soon, but I am pretty fond of my hair and would like to keep it. So I intend to use this trip to the farm as a sabbatical of sorts. A chance to let my body rest and recover from the things I put it through. It’s been a hard lesson for me to learn, but The Lord is showing me its ok to rest, it’s ok to say no, its ok to not be perfect.

 

So pray for us as we travel up north. Pray for me that I will get the rest and peace of mind that I need. And most of all pray for my in-law’s sanity!

 

Matthew 11:28-30

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Leave a Reply

