My joy no man taketh.

It seems here lately everytime I open up my newsfeed I am bombarded with discouraging news. Whether it’s gossip, tabloid trash, children running away, or parents losing a child, the list goes on and on. It has gotten so bad lately I have began to not even read the posts that come up. It is for this reason that I have decided for my own benefit to write an encouraging blog post today, hopefully you can be encouraged by it also.

To me it seems as if social media has become a tool for satan to discourage God’s people. Don’t get me wrong, I believe plenty of good can be done and is done through social media, and obviously it hasn’t kept me from taking part in using it, but it sure does make this world we live in look dark and depraved. While I was thinking about it all this morning The Lord brought to my mind the words of Jesus in John 16 “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world”.

I found it so refreshing to know that despite all the terrible news we can receive each day that The Lord has overcome the world. Though it may seem like the liberals, atheist, or christian-haters have taken over, have faith, Jesus said it Himself, He has overcome the world. They may think they have control or have stolen our joy, but we know their victory will only be temporary while ours is eternal.

I suggest you take time in your day to read the entire 16th chapter of John. Meditate on verses like 22 “And ye now therefore have sorrow: but I will see you again, and your heart shall rejoice, and your joy no man taketh from you.” Jesus said, yes, right now you will have sorrow and turmoil, but don’t worry, soon we will see Jesus and no man, or woman or man becoming a woman can take that Joy away from us.

Let me make this plea to you, instead of dwelling on the bad we hear or throwing our hands up and giving up, let’s fill our newsfeed with the joy Jesus gives us and the good news that he has overcome the world!

Leave a Reply

