TERRAfit-A 12 week fitness program

11330002_10206826607768505_8342447717978579624_n12 weeks ago if you asked me if I exercised I would have told you no. If you would have asked me if I ever thought I would exercise or enjoy exercising I would have told NO WAY. But here I am exercising 5 times a week and ALMOST loving it.

About 3 months ago my sister asked me what TERRAfit was and if I’d be willing to do it with her. I knew that TERRAfit was doTERRA’S form of a fitness challenge but had no idea what it all entailed nor did I have any interest in doing it. But with the urging of my sister I signed up, not only to participate but also to coach a team. I quickly drug my husband and other sister into this “adventure” with us. After doing some homework I understood a little better about the TERRAfit program. TERRAfit is a 12 week fitness challenge. In this challenge you are actually competing against others for a chance to win money. You are placed on a team of 5 and are given a coach. (I was the coach of our team) So you are competing with your team and as an individual. How do you win? You are given points for healthy choices. Choices like eating 4 servings of vegetables, drinking 64 oz of water, eating healthy servings, exercising, etc. TERRAfit gives you a point tracker on their website so you can see your points increase as you make healthy choices.

I wasn’t quite sure how the TERRAfit program was going to work out for me, but I knew I didn’t want to disappoint my team so I plunged right in and tried my hardest. I knew the eating part of the challenge was going to be pretty simple, I had pretty much already been eating that way for several months. All I need to change was breaking up my 3 bigger meals into 6 small meals. Which wasn’t as easy as I thought but doTERRA’s Trimshakes did make that part easier. The part I knew I would have the hardest time with was the exercising. I have always been pretty good at getting out of exercising and making excuses for why I didn’t need to. But with TERRAfit exercising 5 times a week is a big part of your points, so I broke down and started exercising. TERRAfit has their workout program you can get along with your registration. It is streamed right to your computer or you can purchase the DVD’s. The workouts were difficult but do-able. They switch up the routine enough that you aren’t doing the same old thing everyday. It is a great mix of muscle toning and cardio. Unbelievably I actually started enjoying my workout. But by far the best part of TERRAfit is the accountability. Everyday you are accountable to the point tracker that will keep up with the points you earned for the day, You are accountable to the team, and to the coach. So backing out was never an option for me.

Today marks the end of my 12 week challenge. How did I do? Well I wasn’t perfect, but I did the challenge the best I could do. I knew my weight loss wouldn’t be huge since I had already lost 25 lbs in the previous months. I lost 8 lbs and over 10 inches! I lost over 4 inches just in my waist! My husband lost 11 lbs.  My energy level has increased tremendously. I can do things I never thought I could before. I understand how cliche that sounds, but it is true. I am extremely grateful to my sister for convincing me to do it and for TERRAfit for developing such an effective program.
New challenges are starting almost every month and I will be continuing to coach teams. If you are interested in TERRAfit or would like to join a challenge you can contact me here.   

Leave a Reply

